Drawing by Ian G Scott
This is a model of the unique single arch found in the Water of May in 1832 and now in the Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh. It suggests Forteviot had an ambitious stone church, which probably stood on the site of the existing church (dedicated to St Andrew).
Its imagery includes a cross with the Agnus Dei, or ‘Lamb of God’ and a group of robed figures. The larger figure could represent the Pictish king, who with his companions is staking out the boundary of the Forteviot palace complex and monastery; alternately the main figure could represent Christ the Good Shepherd with his staff.
Ian Scott at work.